While I was growing up, my parents use to tell me (as I am sure your parents told you) not to believe everything I hear.  No matter the reason people tell me “things”, I was instructed to “check it out” before I accepted it.  It sure is a good thing I didn’t share some things before “checking”.

Sometimes people will too readily believe things they hear.  I had to check myself and check the source of one such comment earlier this week.  Before I could even mention it to another (no it wasn’t gossip), I had to check it out.  Once it was validated by the SOURCE (someone who would know), I was able to accept it as truth and respond correctly.

I’ve also heard people of wisdom speak these similar words…“Just because you believe something doesn’t make it true.”  Many people “think” they know about things or people and respond to this belief on assumptions or bad info.  However, if the “facts” are incorrect, the belief is unfounded, and actions are faulty, as well.  No “IF”s, “AND”s or “BUT”s about it.

Either it’s the TRUTH or it is a LIE.  The Light of Truth has a way of exposing reality and removing all the grey areas.  Hearing something from a friend of a friend of a friend is almost always bad information.  It’s your responsibility to check the facts, before you establish beliefs and behaviors, and most definitely before you speak it.

Proverbs 18:13 (NKJV) – “He who answers a matter before he hears it, it is folly and shame to him.”  (KDE paraphrase – “If you speak concerning a subject before you know the truth, it is foolish and shameful.”)

What do you know?…

