Proverbs 12:1 NLT“To learn, you must love discipline; it is stupid to hate correction.”

Was reminded today of one of the funny yet stupid movies I have enjoyed.  Harland Williams is hilarious in “Rocketman”.   In the movie he coins a phrase over and over again, “It wasn’t me!”, even making the front page of every newspaper across the globe.

rocketman

This phrase can become our slogan if we are not truly being transparent in our spiritual lives.  “It wasn’t me!

Way too many people are giving the devil credit or blaming others for their carnal, selfish, and faulty actions. – It is NOT my fault.  It’s because of my childhood.  I was mistreated.  I have been hurt.  I was not born with everything I want like so and so.  I don’t know the right people.  I’m doing what I’m suppose to but they are not.  If they’re not gonna try, neither am I.  If they would act right, so would I.  If they want to work it out, then they can come to me.  When they apologize, then I will forgive them.  The devil made me do it.  I’ve had a bad day.  I haven’t had enough time.  I’m too busy for that…

Those are such sad statements.  Proverbs tells us that if we are to learn from our mistakes or gain wisdom for our circumstances, we must love discipline.  The root of the word discipline here is “correction, admonition, chastening…”.  But if a person does not accept the chastening that is required, they cannot begin to learn from the things they go through.  And NOT learning carries us into a vicious, rotating cycle of repeating mistakes and going through the same tests again and again.  The Word tells us that whoever God loves, He will correct, admonish, chasten.  So, take it like a man (or woman).

Though the Word does not refer to it specifically, I believe it also about the discipline of our lives.  Discipline? Yes, reading the Word, praying, worshiping God, being thankful, fulfilling obligations, promptness, keeping priorities in order, etc.  We must be disciplined in our daily routines.  If we simply allow our schedules and emotions to lead us, we are in BIG TROUBLE.  And when we do that, we tend to believe it isn’t our fault for not getting things done or living up to par.

If you can’t tell, the last couple blogs have been a little glimpse into my own life of accepting correction from God.  I am not in denial.  “IT WAS ME!” I did it.  I may not have intended to do it, but I did it.  (Confession is good for the soul.) What did I do?  You want to see that I am human, too?

Well, it was just some faulty responses to STUPID issues.  Yes, I am human.  I DID IT! …and so did you! (Got you a t-shirt)

ididitididitididit

