CAUTION: Public Display of Affection!

pda2

Couples holding hands …kissing in public places …intimacy in the open.          Get a room!!! Some forms of affection displayed in public places are okay.  Others, not so much.

Whether we realize it or not, in every moment of our lives we send out signals and messages about who we are…our work, home, possessions, and spirituality.  These tell the story to all around us about what is in the very center of our soul.  No matter what we try to display, the “real you” will eventually be seen.  You cannot cover up who you truly are.  Just as the saying goes, “you can take the man out of the country, but you cannot take the country out of the man.” or “A leopard cannot change its spots.” This is true because of who you ARE.  The thing to consider is that when others see our signals, will we try to let them see our personality and make it all about us or will we point beyond us to the beauty and glory of God?  Everything we do displays what we believe.  We are what we practice.  If you practice perverted living (even in secret) it will be displayed.  If you practice righteousness, you will be known for it by others.  What you practice becomes permanent!

Bumper stickers, jewelry, cliché phrases, loud prayers, self proclamations, tattoos, attire, demeanor, etc.  All of these are a form of public displays of affection.  If you love a certain style or fashion, you wear it with pride.  Why?…because you feel it is you.  God is not looking for this kind of prideful display.  In fact, Jesus rebuked the Pharisees for this kind of behavior.

What God is looking for is INTIMACY!  He has been called, The Lover of My Soul.  He is my lover.  As I sing love songs to Him, He leads me into the chamber of His presence that is surrounded by His glory.  My praise of Him moves to intimate worship.  My soul is intertwined with His presence.  The more I linger here, the deeper the love and emotions.  And just like physical intimacy, I forget everything and everyone around me as I express my passion for Him.  In this secret place, our relationship is established and strengthened.  He has become everything I long for and everything I live for.  Yes, it’s much like a man\woman relationship except we are speaking spiritually.  He is the lover of my soul.

pda no

In Luke 9:26 (NLT), Jesus indicates that we are required to display our devotion and love and affection for the Father.  “If anyone is ashamed of me and my message, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in his glory and in the glory of the Father and the holy angels.”

God, help me to display my affection in public places.  My intimacy with You is meant to be seen by others.  Not as a “show”, but simply because I am in love!

Where’s the love?  What are you showing?  Is it being displayed?  Or are we embarrassed?

PDA!

James 2:14-20 NLT14What good is it, dear brothers and sisters, if you say you have faith but don’t show it by your actions? Can that kind of faith save anyone? 15Suppose you see a brother or sister who has no food or clothing, 16and you say, Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well—but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do? 17So you see, faith by itself isn’t enough. Unless it produces good deeds, it is dead and useless. 18Now someone may argue, Some people have faith; others have good deeds. But I say, How can you show me your faith if you don’t have good deeds? I will show you my faith by my good deeds. 19You say you have faith, for you believe that there is one God. Good for you! Even the demons believe this, and they tremble in terror. 20How foolish! Can’t you see that faith without good deeds is useless?”

