cptobvious

Have you known people who have an extremely difficult time seeing what is ahead of them because they are so focused on the OBVIOUS all around them?  Or they just can’t grasp the main goal because the tasks are “so important”?  It never ceases to amaze me of the spiritually challenged individuals who think they have been given the gift (but used more like a forceful power) of discernment and “expose” the most ridiculously obvious things about situations.  DUH!  Like the sign below…

This-sign-has-sharp-edges

Hey, never mind the fact that the bridge is out ahead! Let’s focus on what everyone already knows – the edges are sharp. THANKS, CAPTAIN OBVIOUS!COBridge

Some “intelligent” people feel the need to expose the “revelation” (of which is declared as hearing the voice of God).  Please.  Get your eyes off of the fact that we are not what we want to be.  We ALL know that one.  I have an idea… What do you say we focus on what will help us plan for tomorrow and progress in our God given destiny?  Huh? No? What, you can’t see that? I didn’t think so…Or better yet, use that same energy to focus on allowing God to truly speak to you about how to overcome any perceived obstacles.

Of course, all of the above tongue in cheek is said with tongue in cheek.  (Yes, I meant to be redundant.) Ok, you get it!

Yep, we all get the “joy” of working with and rubbing shoulders with these spiritual geniuses.  Thank God that though we have to deal with this, it is another part of working out our character.  Even though I really dislike having to deal with this kind of thought process in others, I do NOT have to allow it to frustrate me and get me focused on the wrong things.  Believe me, in the past I have allowed Mr. and Mrs. Obvious to distract me.  No more.  I gave that up some time ago.

James 1:2-4 NIV2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”

On the other side of the coin, we NEED to be reminded of some things that should be extremely obvious, but we sometimes fail to see.  GOD IS ON YOUR SIDE!  Can I state something really obvious to you?  Jesus died for you.  His last statement was “It is finished.”  That being the case, there is NOTHING left for Him to do.  Whatever your need, He’s already completed what is required.

What I have learned from Captain Obvious is to respond to his ridiculously obvious statements with MORE ridiculously obvious declarations…declarations of faith, edification, encouragement and empowerment.   When Captain Obvious tells you “We must not sin or God will be displeased with us.” or “If we don’t pray, we will not have our prayers answered.” Lovingly declare along these lines, “God is so merciful and gracious that even our biggest failures are NEVER too big for God to help us overcome!” C.O. may appear confused at this point.  Don’t worry, he’s just thinking of something else obvious to say.

Thanks but no thanks, Captain Obvious.  I DO NOT need your help!

 

