My father-in-law, Bill, teaches at a public school where he assists special needs kids.  One student in his class spends the day drawing circles or zeros all over every page of paper.  Well, Bill is a thinker and very creative.  Here is his explanation…

CIRCLES… an introduction

I hope you enjoy “Circles.” But I can’t take credit for it. Not totally. You see, the circles are the creation of Caroline S., one of the sweetest and most lovable children you’d ever meet. Caroline has Downs Syndrome, and I’m an assistant to the teacher in her classroom.

This past year Caroline attended an Art Class, and I accompanied her. But Caroline adamantly refused to do any of the work the other children were doing. All she wanted to do was draw circles… seemingly endless page after page after page of nothing but circles! Because we’re not there to bring misery into the lives of special needs children, I let her continue to happily draw her beloved circles, which she did, page after page, day after day.

Although fast approaching seventy, I’m still a kid at heart myself, so one day in Art Class when Caroline handed me the umpteenth page of circles, something in my brain clicked. Knowing that she’d never miss “just one” page of circles, I erased a few (to give me room to work) and added my own interpretation to what Caroline had just drawn. And so began our joyful collaboration of “Circles.”

Bill Murphy (Caroline, I couldn’t have done it without you!)

I am posting a few here.  More will come later…

ArticCircle

Boulder

As you can see, he’s a genious and needs to “officially” publish these. (I’ll work on that.).  Hope you enjoy!

These got me to thinking…if only we would take this same approach to the “zeros” in our lives.  You know – failures, shortcomings, struggles, hindrances, etc.  If we would learn to just simply laugh at ourselves and not be so serious about specific details, we would live much longer and be much more happy.  Come on.  Laugh at yourself a little.  You know you are peculiar sometimes.  Shoot, even a little weird!

Dinosaurs

Making light of our “zeros” is NOT ignoring our realities.  We should just take a deep breath and relax.  You may be only able to draw zeros.  But God is so incredible and loves you so much, that He can fill your “zeros” with meaning and purpose and promise…or maybe give it a humorous spin.  I mean, even God laughs at us and our silly humanity, doesn’t He?

Give God all the pages of your life, no matter how good or bad.  And when He picks up the pen and begins adding a few extra strokes to the page; it will only lead to making the most of our “zeros”!  You don’t need a PERFECT page.  You only need to give God what you have and watch The Artist go to work on your life.

SaidThat

I Peter 2:9-10 (The Message)“But you are the ones chosen by God, chosen for the high calling of priestly work, chosen to be a holy people, God’s instruments to do his work and speak out for him, to tell others of the night-and-day difference he made for you—from nothing to something, from rejected to accepted.”

