Welcome to Groundhog Day! The day of “the shadow”.

Today is the day Punxsutawney Phil will stick his head out of his little hole and reveal to the nation how much more winter we will get to endure\enjoy – your pick.  And I can see via website http://www.groundhog.org/ that Phil has predicted 6 more weeks. (Sorry to all the summer lovers.)

Obviously, the reason Phil ran back in his hole is that he saw his own shadow and was scared by it. I believe Phil is justified in running from his shadow because he seems to have some things figured out.

I John 1:5-10 NIV “…if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, His Son, purifies us from all sin…”

First of all, we MUST have light for any shadow to be cast. Jesus is the Light of the world and we are called to walk in that light. Furthermore, He commends us to be the light TO the world. We are responsible only to REFLECT the light of His glory. (See the account of Moses found in Exodus 34:29-35). Some of my acquaintances have completely misunderstood the properties of light. They believe they are to originate the light. We will NEVER be good enough to do that; hence the shadow… So even in our weakness and with all of our imperfections, we are called only to REFLECT the light.

The earth’s moon is the perfect example of this principle. It doesn’t originate the light, it only reflects what it receives from the source of light, the sun.  And when we don’t see the reflection of the sun upon the moon at night, it gets awfully dark. In contrast, some nights are illuminated by the power of the reflected light from the sun.

Secondly, the darker the shadow, the dimmer the source of light. In the same way, a faint shadow could indicate a brilliant, radiant light. The second is the one I would choose. It may be blinding, but as long as it is His light shining upon my and through me, I don’t care where I go.  His light will lead the perfect way to where He desires me to be and do what He chooses. He knows best.

Our responsibility is to be positioned in a place where the light can shine directly upon us.  As a child of God, others will benefit from the light that is reflected from you.  And just like Moses’ time spent in the presence of God’s glory caused his face to shine “brilliantly”; your life will radiate in the same manner IF you are spending time in the glory of His presence.  The power of what the Light reveals can sometimes be scary.  Don’t cover it; radiate!

Finally, Phil seeing his own shadow scared him.  My own shadow scares me, too.  Maybe not a spooky kind of scared, but a fear that there is WAY TOO MUCH OF ME and not near enough of Him! The more “me” there is in my life, the greater the shadow. When there is too much of me, my faults and failures are brought to the surface through my lifestyle and conversation.

When you walk in the Light, it is no longer you that is seen, but Him. Remember, you don’t possess the property of light. Only God can produce the light in your life which will cast the shadows.  Reflect His light and fulfill God’s purpose for you. Let the darkness of the shadow you cast scare the living daylights out of you!

P.S. – the only way to get rid of a shadow is to be completely surrounded by light! TAKE ME THERE, LORD!

