Recently, a friend posted this FB status…

“Love my job! I entered a room tonight and the woman, who is 86, thought I was her mother, I sat on her bedside and talked for awhile about things I knew nothing about while gently combing her hair back from her face; repositioned her and kissed her goodnight on the cheek, as I left the room another CNA asked, ‘why didn’t you tell her you weren’t her mom?’ I said, ‘because she needed me to be.’ ♥ Give of yourself”

WOW! I was moved (emotionally and spiritually) by this strange act of kindness.  I want that to be the kind of attitude I have in my walk with God. I am not completely there yet, but the Lord is definitely working on me.  I want to give myself away…

I Corinthians 9:19-23 (NIV)19Though I am free and belong to no man, I make myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible. 20To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law. 21To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. 22To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all men so that by all possible means I might save some. 23I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.”

God sometimes leads us to do very unorthodox things in ministry. I should know. I have been in an unorthodox season (or should say decade). It is not always easy nor comfortable, but God is definitely in control. It’s like Daniel when he went to King Nebuchadnezzar’s court. He was a Jew but if he wanted to remain alive and be successful in what God brought him there for, he would do as the others in the court did.  This was a set-up by God. Daniel was certainly not comfortable with everything he “had” to do. But God saw his faithfulness and blessed it.  I believe Daniel not only wanted to pray 3 times a day because of his religious training, but just as much because he had to pray that much to stay saved. (I’ve been there, too.)

I have been studying the book of James lately. Faith and works are to go hand in hand. We are saved through faith, and faith leads us to produce works.  “…faith without works is dead…” I think this is exactly what my friend was referring to in her status update. It was not just “…because she needed me to…” but also, “…because HE needed me to…”. She became Jesus (and mother) for that 86 yr old woman.

God needs us to be flexible. Life situations sometimes require that our “likes” and “dislikes” are tossed to the side. As a true ambassador of the Kingdom of God, we are mandated to speak only what is spoken in the Kingdom realm.  Only those willing to surrender their personal “preferences” for the sake of the Kingdom can really call themselves ambassadors for Christ.

Even I sometimes don’t always understand why God would ask certain sacrifices or why he would nudge us in certain directions, I know this one thing – GOD IS IN CONTROL OF EVERYTHING and He has His reasons!  I simply have to trust Him…because He needs me to…

What areas do you need to be more flexible in…because He needs you to be???

